Heroes

My dad has given me many gifts, but my all-time favorite is a copy of Edith Hamilton’s “Mythology,” which I got for my 10th birthday. I’d spend nights poring over the book: wondering what Cupid and Psyche look like, getting teary-eyed over the death of brave Patroclus in the Trojan war, thinking about which Greek goddess I’d most like to be (Athena).

This should explain, then, why I’m so hooked on Rick Riordan’s novels about Greek, Roman, and Egyptian demigods. The books were basically written for teenagers, but I devour them like I would red velvet cupcakes. Percy Jackson is my hero the way Harry Potter is to…well, Harry Potter lovers.

Worn-out because they’re well-loved

From what I know, Riordan has written three series of novels, two of them not yet concluded.

First is Percy Jackson & The Olympians, five books that revolve around the adventures of Percy Jackson, the son of a mortal woman and the sea god Poseidon. A movie was made based on the first book, “Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief,” but in my opinion it didn’t do the book justice. Granted, it was entertaining and it featured an ensemble cast that included Pierce Brosnan and Uma Thurman, but the casting  of a key character, Annabeth, was all sorts of wrong. Annabeth should’ve been blond with gray eyes, not a big-boned brunette. Likewise, the producers seemed to have made the film without any intention to do the rest of the series, because they didn’t really build the characters.

Second is The Kane Chronicles, a trilogy written in a somewhat different style. It’s about siblings Carter and Sadie Kane, who narrate how their lives have gone topsy turvy because of Egyptian gods. Only the first two books have been released so far; the last won’t come out until May next year.

The third, and probably the most exciting, is the Heroes of Olympus, where good old Percy Jackson is one of the main characters. The series merges Greek and Roman mythology. So far only the first two books have come out: “The Lost Hero” and “The Son of Neptune.” The latter was released only last October 4.

It was kinda embarrassing that I almost couldn’t stop giggling when I discovered that bookstores here in Manila already carried “The Son of Neptune” on the day of its release. I immediately purchased it, and proceeded to the nearest restaurant to read the first few chapters.

Part of me was afraid to read it, knowing I’d have to wait until next year for the next installment. Nevertheless I finished the novel—-which made me like Greek mythology over Roman mythology even more—-in only three or four sittings.

It sucks that I have to wait until October 2012 for the third book, “The Mark of Athena.” The fifth and last of the series won’t even be released until 2015! Then again, it’s nice to have something to look forward to every year.

3 thoughts on “Heroes

  1. I know a little of Athena is the goddess for the Greeks. She is the patron goddess of Athens, the goddess of knowledge and wisdom, a goddess of arts and crafts. The most favorite daughter of her father Zeus,

    Athena was a smart war goddess, focus on strategy rather than killing, A Trojan war hero and a warrior. Oh yeah, she also gave Athens a wonderful gift of the olive tree, to collect oil..and foods.

Leave a Reply

